Sunday Morning Life Hack: Inexpensive Glasses

I was nine when I lost my perfect 20/20 vision. Sigh.

Genetically, it’s surprising I held out that long, but I did and at the beginning of fifth grade I had my first pair of glasses. I hated them. In fact, I hated them so much I never wore them, in favor of struggling to see the whiteboard, the TV, a large basketball flying at my head…

Three years later I was able to get contacts and I stuck with them for years. However, when I joined Peace Corps they were very clear; this was not a contacts club, glasses were mandatory unless you wanted to pay out of pocket for your own contacts for two years and run the risk of eye infections.

I wore contacts twice. I got eye infections twice.

So I learned to love glasses. And I thoroughly believe that it’s because I found a good pair that were comfortable, inexpensive, and looked good on me. No simple task but so important.

Enter, Firmoo. Online optical store*. I know, I was skeptical too, but I promise you, they do a good job. Here’s how it works:

  • Pick your frames: they have a virtual try-on where you can see the frames on your photo. Frames range in price from $10-$100
  • Give them your prescription information: If you need an eye exam and don’t have insurance, Costco and America’s Best are the cheapest options I’ve found**
  • Choose any extra coatings you’d like: I usually add UVA/UVB and anti-glare protection for $5. Glasses come with anti-scratch coating for no added charge
  • Give them a couple of weeks to put it all together and jump around with sheer glee when you new glasses arrive.

Are you ready for the best part, because I saved it until the end for you: You first pair is free.

Plus, they frequently run deals that give you free shipping or great pricing. On Valentine’s Day, my boyfriend and I took advantage of the 2 for 1 deal and ended up paying $23 each for new glasses. They also offer prescription sunglasses, readers, bifocals, and cosmetic frames for only a few dollars more.

If you wear glasses, check them out and let me know what you think.

*I am 100% not sponsored by Firmoo as of this post…though, I mean if Firmoo is reading this and wants to give me money. I won’t say no…

**Typically exams for contacts include the information needed for glasses, so a contacts exam is more expensive but if you wear both it might be worth the cost.

One thought on “Sunday Morning Life Hack: Inexpensive Glasses

Leave a Reply

