¡Feliz Día Internacional de la Mujer!

I’ve been thinking about what to say about International Women’s Day all day. This morning I got an email from my best friend from Peru wishing me a happy Women’s Day and saying that she loves and misses me.

DSC06111

Pal Janeth and I at the “Statue of Liberty” in Northern Peru.

I’m not going to go on about Peace Corps, but I do want to highlight a couple of points in honor of International Women’s Day (and share some adorable photos).

10505092_1446692235598541_3658739595598707830_o

Camp ALMA – A girls’ empowerment camp with representatives from districts around the region of Lambayeque

Women are strong. Women are weak. Women are kind. Women are cruel. Women are smart. Women are dumb. Women are talented. Women are clumsy. Women are cool. Women are awkward. Women are beautiful. Women are level-headed. Women are crazy. Women are loud. Women are quiet. 

IMG_2154

Women are a million things and no one woman is exactly like another. I am a lot of things, being a woman is part of that. A part I love.

IMG_3118

Every single woman and girl out there has immeasurably beauty and worth.

IMG_3001

Let’s take today (what’s left of it) and tomorrow and the next day and each day after and cherish women for the amazing things they do. Let’s be beautiful human beings to one another.

10445913_655820927841858_3207519926712098140_n

Best of luck

4 thoughts on “¡Feliz Día Internacional de la Mujer!

Leave a Reply

