Creative Blogger Award

Yesterday I received the loveliest of notifications from Jess Esth saying she’s nominated me for Creative Blogger Award.

How surprised was I to learn that she’s a fantastic Master Esthetician and general authority on all things skincare. I particularly love her post about Brazilian waxing, oh oh and this one about Feminism and beauty. I wont ramble on, but she’s a rockstar and you should check her out.

You guys, an award. I’ve done some pretty dumb things for awards (ahem, jumping in a glacial runoff lake every week for five summers) and gotten some pretty dumb awards (cough, cough, 3rd place for pooping my pants the most in my Peace Corps group).

I appreciate this one though; I haven’t been blogging for long, but it’s nice to know that someone out there is enjoying my internet monologue.

These are the rules:

  1. Thank and post link to the blog that nominated you
  2. Share 5 facts about yourself to readers
  3. Nominate 10 blogs and link to them
  4. Notify nominees via social media/blog
  5. Pass along the rules
  6. Carry on being kind to one another

***5 Facts about myself***

I Speak Gaelic

Ok, maybe not in the traditional sense, I actually mostly speak a moderately made up language that I call Gaelic.

11130353_10153027389338855_8189879617472470215_o

You see, many years ago a friend and her sister had a hilarious conversation:

Sister: How do you do an Irish accent?
Friend: You just roll your Rs a bit
Sister: *pauses* Ayy, I dardn’t knar thart!

Ever since this glorious moment, BFF Jess and I have been occasionally dropping into “Gaelic” (correctly pronounced Garlic, of course).

Arts arctuarly rarly farn! Trar art warth a frarnd!

And before you get on me about made-up languages being childish, try it, out load and tell me you aren’t cracking up.

I Grew Up in a German Themed Town

Bavarian, actually.

Leavenworth, WA is located in the foothills of the Cascade Mountains, houses less than 2,000 people, and boasts festivals all year round. There are so many tourists that people often ask me “wait, people actually live there?”

We won Best Christmas Town in America several years in a row with the ever-popular Christmas Lighting Festival where we essentially turn off all the lights and turn them back on again in patterns.

I went to Summer Camp. Like, a lot.

I blame my mother. She was a Girl Scout and had heaps of GirlScouty memories, so when I was five she shipped me off to a nearby camp.

I loved it.

Swimming in the lake, archery, field games, tie-dye, eating outside, camping, hiking, Arts and Crafts, singing camp songs, and s’mores. Oh my gourd, s’mores.

As I got older I did the Teen Leadership Program, worked as a counselor, and directed the Teen Leadership Program until one day I woke up and was celebrating 18 summers at camp.

I met some of my best friends there, including Boyfriend, and learned countless lessons about myself, outdoor education, and leadership.

I have an Issue with Teeth

I’m afraid of the dentist, but this is bigger than that.

Whenever I’m walking up stairs or climbing things or sometimes just running or walking somewhere, I have this imagine of myself tripping, failing to use my arms to stop myself and landing directly on my teeth, breaking all of them.

Perhaps it’s linked to that time as a child that I fell from the monkey bars and knocked a tooth out. Perhaps it’s because I’ve had braces three times in my life and knocking out my teeth would be a terrible waste of money. Perhaps it’s because my dentist broke my jawbone when extracting my wisdom teeth. Who knows?

Either way though, I bet you think of me the next time you walk up the stairs.

I’ve Been to 3 Continents

As travel goes, I’ve led a charmed life. It’s been a whole lot of taking the rift opportunities at the right times.

IMG_0260

In high school I took a tour through Western Europe. I was in London during the 2005 bombings, on the way to King’s Cross actually. I ate crepes in Paris in a quiet courtyard. I drank my first glass(es) of wine in Assisi, Venice, Florence, and Rome. I spent a day walking around the colosseum and curbed the urge to take touristy photos at the leaning tower. I frolicked in a meadow in Austria. I got yelled at for frolicking in a meadow in Austria. I saw the weeping lion in Switzerland. I drank amazing beer in Munich and wandered through Ludwig’s castle in Bavaria. And I appreciated every damn moment.

10575153_10202827650317773_2881180972704053732_o

As a kiddo, my parents dragged me all around the US, seeing Colorado mountains, Vegas lights, midwestern lakes, and Washington D.C.’s historical wonder. They took me to Mexico where we slept on the beach and made friends with fishermen and up into Canada where we stayed in snowy cabins and bathed in hot springs.

21953_241415617072_613747072_3888372_2627975_n

In college I studied abroad in London and not only got to fall in love with that amazing city, but also traveled to Ireland, Scotland, Wales, and France. I kissed the Blarney Stone, visited Platform 9 and 3/4, and learned about Dickens while walking around the parks he wrote in.

IMG_3016

And then I got to live in mi querida Peru for two years.

I realize this part feels a little braggy, but I am just so incredibly grateful that I’ve gotten to see and do so many things.

Sick of hearing about me? That’s cool, go check out these glories:

My Year of Grateful: Chelsey writes about what she’s grateful for every day and it’s beautiful.

Be Yourselfie: Entertainment TV host, youtuber and fantastic blogger bringing you the best of the internet.

Zack Slayback: Expert musings on failure, progress, and generally how to be a successful human being.

Whiskey into Whine: Great blog title, great girl. Another lovely human out there trying to figure out adulthood.

The Millennial Pastor: an amazing writer and thinker on what modern religion really is.

Organizing Chaos: Queen of upcycling with a great sense of humor.

Lorie Schaefer: Wisdom, wisdom, wisdom. I have countless times read a post of hers and just thought “yeah, exactly.”

Lattes with Lipgloss: I love me a good lifestyle blog and this one has everything.

Entry Level Expert: Great insights on real life, important stuff.

Cappuccino in the Clouds: Another awesome lifestyle blog with killer visuals.

10 thoughts on “Creative Blogger Award

  1. Hey there, thank you so much for the nomination. I am actually shaking here, and freaking out!!! argh!!!! I totally get the Irish accent (I live in Ireland) and the love for Peru. Thanks again! I need to compose myself now and do something! yay!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I knew your post would be super interesting. The town you grew up in looks so adorable! …and I knew I wasn’t the only one who experimented with weird accents…I don’t think I’ve ever tried Gaelic but it sounds real fun 🙂 I’ll be sure to check out the blogs you nominated too!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. The humor in this is fantastic. I also loved reading your traveling memories. I’ve made it to six continents so far, and I agree–I feel so grateful for those opportunities. Hoping to make it to Antarctica before I’m 30! I’ve never lived anywhere abroad, but it certainly sounds exciting. Here’s to have a wanderlust(y?) heart!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

