Reviewsday: You Deserve a Drink (Book)

I know I’ve mentioned Mamrie Hart before and I have absolutely no shame in repeating myself, because this girl is it.* Mamrie Hart is a YouTube sensation who created a career around puns and alcohol.

I didn’t stand a chance.

The premise of her show is simple. She makes a different drink each week based on a person or thing that has been popular lately. As she shows you how to make the drink, she makes some hilarious puns. This turns the show into a drinking game as you can re-watch the video and take a drink every time she makes a terrible pun.

I wasn’t kidding, she’s a genius.

And now she’s also a published author.

A few months ago, I had the grand opportunity to meet Ms. Hart at a book signing in Seattle. Now normally I don’t purchase real life books (or really anything, I’m obscenely cheap) but I knew this one would be worth it.

I can honestly say, Mamrie is one of the nicest people I’ve ever met. Not one of the nicest famous people, actually one of the nicest people. She hugged me, we chatted while she signed my book, I inadvertently threatened her, which we laughed off and then took some selfies.


The book itself did not disappoint. There are a lot of autobiographical stories from YouTube stars right now, but this one is a step above the rest.

Reading Mamrie’s book was like hearing an old friend’s stories. Not only does the girl have some righteous tales from the past, but she’s quite genuine, which comes through brilliantly in the tone of the book.

Here are a few more things I love about You Deserve a Drink:

  • Each new chapter comes with a drink recipe so you can make fancy drinks too.
  • The book is a built in drinking game as well (though not for each terrible pun, as we would all die reading the book)
  • Mames created a topless craft/DIY/how-to club with college friends and actually made it a learning experience.
  • While she admits there were times that she might’ve made better decisions, she expresses very few regrets.
  • Girl owns who she is.

Now go enjoy the YDAD book, YDAD Youtube Channel, and the Mametown channel.

Best of luck!

*Not sure what “it” is, but she’s it for sure

Leave a Reply

