Feelings Friday: Body Insecurity and Bad Behavior

I have yet to meet a human being who isn’t insecure about some part of their body. I also have yet to meet a human woman who hasn’t gone through the “am I doing this right?” stage of a new make-up technique.

Ask anyone who has ever attempted a cat-eye what their first experience was like.

Sometimes there’s a learning curve and sometimes a pal has to step in and say “you’re beautiful and perfect and I love you but I can see your underwear right through those pants.”

I’m of the strong opinion that this “pal” should be your mother, your best friend, or your significant other and this “stepping in” should be kind, courteous, and necessary. If any part of this equation is missing, it doesn’t matter the intention, it can hurt.

I bring this up because I recently started filling in my eyebrows. Let’s all just be honest here: it’s hard. Like harder than I thought. Picking the right color when your hair is dyed uncountable shades lighter than your natural color but you have substantial grow-out is hard. Not making them too big, too small, too far apart, too angular, and basically perfect and natural is hard.

I just want to cover up the bald spots.

Anyway, I did the research, I watched the tutorials, I experimented and I’d like to think I’ve been doing a decent job. I even checked in with my close friends and Boyfriend. Approved.

And then this week an acquaintance of mine decided to comment. On my eyebrows.

She is not my mother, my best friend, or Boyfriend last I checked. Plus she came at me abruptly. Rather than a “hey, can we talk about your eyebrows,” I got “What’s going on with your eyebrows?”

Never, ever, no matter how stupid you think someone looks, should you comment on their body by saying “What’s going on with your [insert body part]?” 

Let’s try this out another way:

“What’s going on with your feet?”

“What’s going on with your lips?”

“What’s going on with your butt?”

It’s just not a good approach. And I’m going to wrap this up before I get too far into a rant, but can we just let each other exist without judging appearances. I talked about this in a post last week and I’ll say it again, life is just better when you look at other human beings without judgement.

So the next time you think you need to question someone’s choices on their appearance, ask yourself if you’re their mother, best friend, or significant other and if you aren’t:

Don'tF---ingDo It

So, friends, what do you think? Am I being over sensitive? Let me know if the comments!

Best of luck!

2 thoughts on “Feelings Friday: Body Insecurity and Bad Behavior

  1. You aren’t being overly sensitive. Society in general today seems to have lost their ability to be conscious of the feelings of others … or to be, the very least, tactful. I suspect it has something to do with our infatuation with the reality series sensation. Complete strangers feel obliged to share their unsolicited opinions with everyone about everything. I appreciate your take on this current fact.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

