My Daily Skin Care Routine

After interviewing my favorite Esthetician a few days ago, I started thinking about my skincare routine and the flux it’s been in over previous months. Since returning to the States and returning to a life of daily make-up, I have been trying to find a daily routine that works but won’t break the bank.

It’s been super easy.

Finally I’ve found a few products that work; most from the drugstore and just one splurge I really love.

As a note: I have combination skin with an oily t-zone and very dry chin/cheeks. I also have sensitive skin prone to breaking into hives. Oh and I grow tough little dark hairs along my sideburns and chin that cause breakouts and inflammation sometimes.

Ahem, let’s begin.

Cleanser:ย 

image4

ClarityRX Vitamin-Infused Cleanser, 32.00

Sulphate/Phosphate/Paraben free and all natural, good for sensitive skin, and quite concentrated. This cleanser does the job without drying out skin.

It is expensive for a 4 oz bottle but I bought this bottle in March and after using it twice daily since then I still have half the bottle.

Worth the purchase especially for sensitive skin.

Mask

Queen Helene Mint Julep Mask, $3

image3

Mostly I think I just love the idea of masks. Nothing quite like a good tingly, brightly colored face mask with a glass of wine and Netflix. Am I right? But masks actually do serve a purpose.

This one help exfoliate and clean deep down. It is a bit harsh on dry areas so I tend to use it once a week on the oily bits of my deeply confused skin.

The smell is also pretty amazing.

Toner:

Thayer’s Rose Petal Witch Hazel Toner, $8

image2

I use this all over my face a couple of times a week and as a spot treatment for break outs, though never on the same day as the mask.

It’s gentle and smells really good, plus it lasts forever as I only put a couple of drops on a cotton ball. It’s very good for cleaning out clogged pores without robbing skin of necessary oils.

Cerave Moisturizing Lotion (Normal to Dry Skin), $10

image1

Moisturizer has been the hardest part for me. I’ve been through the high end brands like Clarity, Dermalogica, and Clinique. I’ve been through cheaper brands like Yes to Carrots, Burt’s Bees, and Cetaphil.

Nothing.

Everything left me oily or dry or weirdly both. Some things worked until I put on make up. Some worked for night but not day.

And then I found Cerave. It is, up to now, the only drugstore brand I’ve found with hyaluronic acid which is essential to hydrate deep down. Plus, it comes in a big bottle for cheap.


So what about you, what are you favorite skincare products? What are your least favorite? Let me know in the comments!

Best of luck.

4 thoughts on “My Daily Skin Care Routine

Leave a Reply

