Feelings Friday: I Got Fired

There are a few clubs I have yet to join in my life, clubs that no one’s really excited about entering. For example, I’ve never had a UTI, I’ve never dealt with major credit card fraud and I’ve never been kicked out of a restaurant.* Unfortunately I joined a new club yesterday.

I can now say I have been fired from a job.

I noticed first, not the financial stress, not even the injustice, but the sickening feeling in the pit of my stomach. I suppose it was pride, gurgling deep down, wanting to defend itself, and tell the world I’m not the type who gets fired.

But this event in my life is just like the wrinkle I’ve watched form on the left side of my mouth: it’s happened and I can’t change it. I’m going to have to see the good in it. For the wrinkle it’s noticing that my smile is a bit crooked and I rather like it. For this incident it’s realizing that I hated my boss and my job and that I needed to get out.

This time the universe made the decision for me.

I started working at this business in January and was promoted to manager in March. The owner, we’ll call him Slimer, always read a bit passive aggressive to me, but having been on his good side I didn’t see how bad it really was.

He has spent the last few months lying and making false promises, complaining about progress he continuously limits and confessing his undying dedication to his clients and employees while simultaneously ignoring their needs. He refers to me with a diminunitive “Miss” in front of my first name, grins when I’m trying to make a serious argument and stands so close to me I can feel him breathe, despite my requests that he back up. The stress from this job sent me four different doctors and put me on two different prescription medications. 

Yesterday morning I was served with a termination letter and Slimer and I spent nearly an hour talking.

I asked why. He talked for ten minutes anout the general business model and failed to answer the question. I said, yes sure all good points but why. He explained that big changes are coming. I said cool story bro but tell me why you are firing me. In the end I didn’t get a reason.

After telling him not to sugar coat it, reminding him I’ve never had any negative incidents or bad evaluations (in fact I’ve never had any evaluations), and finally asking if he blames me for the business’ low numbers, all I got was “we’re making some big changes” and “I don’t blame you for the business.”

Blaming someone and then covering it up by saying “I’m not blaming you” feels a lot like screaming “I’m not stabbing you!” while stabbing someone repeatedly.

The good news is threefold;

  • Higher ups in the business (this is a franchise) called me afterward and not only apologized and said he was out of line, but openly offered themselves as a reference.
  • I have another job lined up for Monday that pays better and is in my field. Oh and I’m going to an Ivy League school in two months and this jobs was a holdover.
  • My coworkers are a amazing bunch of human beings who made the time I did work there fantastic.

So I’m chalking this one up to the universe saying “enough” and making the decision to end m employment for me. The only crappy thing about it is that I was going to quit on Monday. I hate losing the element of control. But I suppose if Slimer didn’t see my worth yesterday he wouldn’t have seen it on Monday either.

Dearest readers, there is one thing I want to share with you if you get nothing else from this; sometimes dumb things happen and they make you feel terrible. Sometimes bad people make choices that hurt those who are not to blame. Sometimes shit goes down and you get fired. But, no matter what, you are a beautiful little cinnamon roll and it will all be just fine.

Best of luck.

*Restaurant, no. Bar…

31 thoughts on “Feelings Friday: I Got Fired

  1. Got fired once many moons ago. I probably shouldn’t have accepted the job in the first place since when they offered it to me they also told me their first choice had turned it down. Termination conversation started this way…Boss: “It’s not working out.” Me: “What’s not working out?” Clearly, termination was a surprise to me and, like many initially negative events, turned out to be a blessing in disguise as I ended up in a better place as a result.

    Love your boss’ title “Slimer.” I decided to retire when I determined that I could no longer work for “Twit” and “Princess Fairy Dust.” Once again I admire your wisdom in handling the situation, though I question that your mom reads your blog and felt comfortable in commenting. JK!!! I actually second her opinion and expressed feelings about always having a home since I often tell my daughters the same thing in similar circumstances. We have rooms for them in our retirement home but they’re small so they won’t want to stay forever!😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What a bummer! I feel your pain of working a job that is stressful to the point of frustration. I recently got out of a job like that myself awhile back. Now, I’m working a new job that is in my field and is way more fun!

    Ivy League school, impressive! What will you be doing there? Studying something new? Expanding on what you already know? I’m still in University myself, so it’s always fun to meet others like me.

    Hey, best of luck with your new job. Hope it’s fantastic!

    -Soleil

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Unfortunately I’m now realizing that almost everyone has had a horrible job. I’m sorry you had to deal with it too, glad you’ve found something better now though.
      Yep, I’m headed to Columbia in January for my Master’s in Education, this time next year I’ll (finally) be teaching high school in NYC.
      Thank you for sharing and reading, hope you have a fantastic day!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Psh, when things like this happen, we as people tend to forget that similar experiences happen to others, as well. Focus on you, it’s a part of processing it.
        Anyway, that’s awesome! Good luck with your studies! =D

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I don’t know whether to type UGH! or YAY!, so I’ll do both. I was once fired from a teaching position because I taught at a protestant school and when they discovered I was becoming Catholic, the principal fired me. It was done in such an ugly, unprofessional, and brutal way, I began miscarrying my unborn child right there in his office. To make matters worse, he wouldn’t let me leave until he finished his verbal spirit-bashing. It was probably one of the most traumatic experiences of my life. It was only by the grace of God I was ever able to forgive that man.

    Heavy sigh. Thank you for letting me get that off my chest.

    The good news is, I’ve been self-employed since 2004 and I absolutely LOVE my boss. Best wishes for happiness and success in all you do, Angel. You’re the BEST.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. My exact feelings on the matter. That is an awful story and I’m so sorry that happened. What a terrible experience, good on you for forgiving him, that’s no easy task. Sounds like you have a fantastic boss now 🙂 thank you for reading and sharing your experiences.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I don’t know if you would call it “fired” but I once just stopped going to my job. I just left one day and never came back. I was in the middle of a huge depression and I just couldn’t. In a fit of snide assumption, my friend/coworker left a comment on a blog post I’d made about how I’d had a good day (in the sea of garbage) about how dare I be enjoying myself while she was worried about me and, “Obviously, you don’t have a job anymore.”

    So, I’m sure they consider me fired. I guess I consider me fired, too, since I never actually resigned. Although, even if they had wanted me to come back I probably wouldn’t have.

    Shitty jobs suck. Congratulations of getting fired from this one. Good luck on the next hopefully not shitty job.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. That’s just awful, I’m sorry that happened. I wish people could be more understanding and not assume that actions are taken out of spite. Sounds like you didn’t need to be a part of that anyway, just like I didn’t need to be in my workplace anymore. Thank you for sharing your experience and your support!

      Like

  5. I was fired once…20 years ago by a corporate bigwig who dated women young enough to be his children and once called me “stupid” to my face. The woman who had to fire me assured me it was the best thing that could happen – and she is still a good friend. It’s the worst feeling at the time, but you’ll be so much better for it. Good luck with your future plans – sounds like you’re exactly where you need to be 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Oh man, I’m so sorry you had to deal with that, that guy sounds like a real butt. I’m definitely happy with the change, I start as a Paraeducator on Monday so I’m quite pleased. Thank you for reading and sharing your experience.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Congratulations on getting out and good luck for the new job! It seems the universe is looking out for you. (And I love it when moms comment on blogs too.)
    I got fired once for failing to appear on the first day of work in the new semester. I was in the State and couldn’t get back to Austria at the time. It was September 2001 and the fact that 9/11 had happened and no planes were flying was not a good enough excuse for MY slimy boss. Good riddance.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. As your Mom, I want to damage that idiot in some way. How dare he! But as a working woman who has, yes, been fired (twice!), at least you are out of that situation and can relax a bit. There’s something good about getting out of a job you hate, even if you had no control of it (think newspaper, I came to hate a job I loved). And, as always, remember that you have a loving family who supports you in any way we can. Love you!

    Liked by 2 people

  8. There are too many ways in which I can identify with this post to list here. I’m sorry/happy for you….and a bit envious as strange as that sounds. I’m in a job that I don’t like but too practical (read, CHICKEN) to do anything about it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

