#Thankful

I complain a lot.

Sometimes it’s warranted and sometimes it isn’t, but either way it’s not helpful. I’m working on it. I can say that I’ve gotten much better at recognizing the lovely, wonderful things in my life since returning to the U.S.

sbfg9

I have so much to be thankful for.

A Wonderful Family

I have been blessed with family that not only supports me, but support my crazy dreams. When I told my parents I was moving to a developing country for two years they told me to be safe. They’ve never put limits on me, only encouraged me to chase the stars.

M&D

A Fantastic Circle of Pals

I’ve talked endlessly about BFF Jess and for good reason, girl is a boss and an amazing friend. I’ve been blessed with several of them. The kinds of friends who keep you honest but always have your back. They aren’t easy to find but once you do, you’re set.

I’m also extremely thankful to have Boyfriend, who is one of my best friends, an awesome supporter and quite possibly my biggest fan. The other night, during a horrible bout of cramps, he turned to me and said “you know, you’re kind of a badass. I mean, you did the Peace Corps, you’re going to an Ivy League school next year, you’re teaching special ed, and you’ve done it all while dealing with cramps for like a quarter of the time.” I think I’ll keep him.

11054474_10153027363578855_6651670209365915794_o

Hot Water

You guys, in Peru I didn’t have water much of the time and definitely didn’t see a lot of hot water. You don’t realize just how amazing a hot shower is until you’ve gone without one.

A Job I Like

I regret that I spent so much of this year working a job I didn’t like for a less than trustworthy and rather slimy individual. Moving on from that job has done wonders for my mental health and my abilities. I’m working in education again, a field I love, and with people who are passionate about it. I could not be happier with my new job.

love-my-job

Change

I’ve a lot of big changes coming in life, which, yeah, is scary, but damn it if change doesn’t make me better. This journey has already begun to make me stronger and it will only continue.

happy-thanksgiving-banner-clip-art-1-400x215

What are you thankful for this year?

Cheers to you all and have a Happy Thanksgiving!

Best of luck.

 

9 thoughts on “#Thankful

Leave a Reply

