Motivation Monday: Adventure

When was the last time you did something for the first time- (1)

Adventure scares the hell out of me.

It is, by nature, the exact opposite of me curling up in my comfort zone and ignoring the world. Adventure is inviting the world in.

I can’t think of a single adventure I regret. Even the ones that turned out badly taught me enough to avoid regret. So I know adventures are good. And still I hesitate every time.

Let me explain it this way: one time I went bungee jumping…

During Peace Corps, I took a vacation to Lima with my awesome pal, Jeannie. One day we found a company who did bungee jumping off of a bridge in the mountains and signed up. The next morning we got up early and rode on an old bus through curving hills while I tried not to vomit due to car sickness.

The entire ride up I was calm. Am I going to jump off a bridge? Hell Yes I am! When we arrived, I stepped out of the car, listened to instructions, put on my harness and helmet. I felt good. Am I going to kick gravity’s ass? Hell yes I am!

IMG_2780

 

We took photos and waited for the gear to be checked and rechecked. We walked out onto the bridge and lined up. I watched the first person jump, flying downward with grace and giggling all the way. I turned to Jeannie and simply said “nope, can’t do that.”

Am I going to plummet from the edge of oblivion? Hell no, are you kidding me!

IMG_2781

We had to option to jump or be thrown and let’s just say I had to be thrown.

I’ve had to either be thrown or throw myself into most new adventures, because damn it if I’m not a big old chicken. But the thing about adventures is; it doesn’t matter how much you kick and scream before you do it, it only matters that you did it.

IMG_2789IMG_2790IMG_2791

What was your latest adventure?

yeah

Best of luck.

3 thoughts on “Motivation Monday: Adventure

Leave a Reply

