How To: Get Over a Cold

My bloggery has been lacking this week, but I have a good reason! For the first time since winter of 2012, I have a cold.

Between Peace Corps and working in schools, my immune system has gotten pretty dtrong. Well, it’s either that or the universe saw me struggling with IBS, Arthritis and steadily greying hair at 27 and thought “maybe we’ll just leave her be on this one.” Either way I don’t often get sick and this week I’m realizing, it is the absolute worst.

im-sick-what-do-i-eat

So in honor of my sniffles, here are some tips for when you’re feeling crappy too.

Rest

I am the worst at this, but it’s so important to give your body a break. There’s an epic rap battle happening inside you between white blood cells and this sickness, so they’ve got enough going on without you thinking you need to do anything but rest.

Make sure you get enough sleep at night and let yourself relax as much of the day as possible. Now is a great time to turn on a show you don’t really care about and nap through it.

anigif_enhanced-buzz-1216-1367681193-0

Hydrate

Normally I’m pretty good at staying hydrated but for some reason I hate water when I’m sick. Whether you love it or hate it, water is the key to surviving this. So drink it plain or with lemon, or as tea, or full of good wishes, but drink up.

tumblr_lph9k1czee1qawng8o1_500

Calm the **** Down

I probably got sick due to the added amount of germs in my daily environment, but I also got sick because I’m been stressed as hell lately. Physical health is affected by mental health, so it’s important to maintain your mental health as well. If you’re anxious, stressed, upset about something, handle it, don’t just let it continue to mess you up.

200_s1

Essential OIls

A friend of mine gave me a couple of bottles of essential oils for Christmas and her timing was impeccable. I’m not an expert by any means but I know that inhaling Frankensence (and even putting a drop under my nose) has been helping clear my head like nothing else.

7-essential-oils-slide-001

Drink My “Special Tea”

Every time Boyfriend starts to get sick, I make a variation of this tea. This time around it’s my turn to drink it and I’m finding that it helps. It’s not only good for a stuffy head and sore throat but it’s loading with Vitamin C. The recipe is roughly as follows.

-Special Tea-

8 c. water
6-8 Tea Bags (I like ginger or camomile)
1 lemon
1 orange
1/2 grapefruit
1/2 c. chopped, fresh ginger
1/2 tsp ground ginger
1/2 tsp cinnamon
honey to taste

Put water and tea in large pot to boil. Chop lemon, orange, and grapefruit into large chunks and add to pot. Add ginger and spices and bring to a boil. Let boil for one minute and turn heat to low. Add lid to pot and let simmer for 20-30 minutes. Strain and add honey or other sweetener as desired.

tumblr_nb900b30hq1rw4he4o1_500

For anyone out there battling a cold, the flu, or just holiday exhaustion: I feel you, pal. And I hope you feel better soon.

Best of luck!

3 thoughts on “How To: Get Over a Cold

  1. Well, I just got my “old people’s shots.” Went to the doc and told her that was what I wanted. They were the pneumonia shot (recommended at age 60) and flu shot. The former is another sign that I am now officially an old fart. I will add the shingles shot, which is another one us old farts should have. It’s only 40% effective but that’s good enough for me just so I can possibly avoid all those gross and deadly icky things that it does to your body that they show on the Terry Bradshaw and other old fart TV commercials.

    This was the first time I’ve ever had a flu shot. The main reason I got it was because I had a really nasty cold earlier this year for the first time in a long time. I passed it to Spouse, who usually gets one the same time every year but this one was even different for him. It took a really long time (like 5-6 weeks) for each of us to recover. Since it’s also been many years since a flu bug has really hit me, I wanted to try to avoid a similar recovery time, just in case. I chalk this incident and this caution up to being an old fart who now lives among a lot of other old farts and to being an empty nester, since I know from personal experience that moms don’t get sick!

    Hope you’re feeling better. Your special tea sounds yummy for any cold day, even if one is not sick but just wants to curl up with a good book in a warm nook.

    Like

  2. Oh my god. The duck. Dr Who. I love this post more than I should seeing as it’s about a really sucky illness, I had a cold a couple weeks ago and it was such a pain in the arse. My nose hurt from alk the blowing!

    Corinne x

    Like

Leave a Reply

