New Year, New…Year

Happy 2016, friends!

fireworksanimation-13

I hope you all had a lovely New Years Eve. I don’t know about you, but mine definitely reached a pivotal moment at the strike of midnight when Boyfriend and I drunkenly tried to fix our TV which had gotten stuck on televangelists and wouldn’t respond to any command, while opening a bottle of champagne and shouting to each other over the blasts of fireworks outside.

It could not have been more perfect.

It really is a strange thing to wake up in a new year. I can’t help feeling like it’s a new beginning, even if it’s an arbitrary one. But I do love a good beginning, so this year I have decided to share a couple of resolutions.

Resolutions can be tricky because they are both highly likely to fall apart, and, they can make you feel pretty terrible about yourself. So I’m taking a couple of precautions before I start:

tumblr_mw7c0fzrmo1s5dhhwo1_250

  1. There should be no implication in a resolution that you are not already a beautiful, smart, flawless human being. A resolution should not be made to fix you because you are fantastic already, a resolution should be made to continue personal growth and achieve a goal.
  2. Resolutions, along with all goal setting, should be SMART. Specific, Measurable, Attainable, Realistic, Time (it should have a timeline). Without all of these pieces, it’s hard to succeed.
  3. Choose to learn knew skills or drop old habits that help you grow as a human, but also that you are interested in. If you decide to learn Japanese but have no interest in it, you…well, what is that? What are you doing? Choose things that make you happier.

20b95083c1d92a2839317d1db241f091

That said, here are my goals for 2016:

Do something new each month (and blog about it). It doesn’t have to be skydiving, it could be going to a social event or trying a new hobby, but each month I’m going to try a new activity (that’s maybe a bit scary for me) and tell you all about it.

giphy

Get Back to Health. This year I was officially diagnosed with Irritable Bowel Syndrome (IBS). I have gone to doctors all year and done a lot of my own research and experimentation for much longer; I know what’s best for my body. So in 2016 I hope to focus on:

  • Eat paleo at least 80% of the time*
  • Get out and move 30 minutes a day (especially running and yoga) to keep anxiety and stress low
  • Journal at least twice a week
  • Remind myself often that these things are important and that my physical and mental health are crucial to my happiness and effectiveness as a human being.

Those goal seem lofty, but they aren’t all new. I’m not building a house, just repainting a couple of rooms and buying some new furniture.

tumblr_n5b92qudmb1rhzvhio1_500

So, friends, what are your goals for 2016? And what fantastic things did you accomplish in 2015?

Best of luck!

 

*Except cheese, ain’t nobody gonna make me quit cheese again

5 thoughts on “New Year, New…Year

  1. jenovotony says:

    I definitely agree that resolutions are useless if they aren’t SMART and don’t make people happy. I don’t actually make resolutions, just posit abstract ideas the I would maybe like to try. But good luck with yours!

    Also, I wanted to let you know that I nominated you for the Liebster Award because I dig your blog. If you’re interested in participating, the link to the guidelines in my post is here: https://strictlypersonalbusiness.wordpress.com/2016/01/09/liebster-award/

    Have a good day 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, I’m glad the SMART tool helped, I learned about it from another teacher when she was using it with middle school kids and all I could think was “I can use this.” Hope you can to. Thanks for reading and have a great day!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

