In Defense of Valentine’s Day

Facebook has taught me several things: your birthday will bring everyone out of the woodwork, when profile pictures uniformly change its time to check the news, and stalking your ex is a mixed bag so you should be prepared. More pertinent to today is that people have some feelings about Valentine’s Day.

So many feelings.

2b7473610ced33b23050fcdfe6f8900e
In the last 24 hours I’ve seen some pretty combative hashtags, hoping that my #celebratelove friend wouldn’t go head to head with my #corporateholidaybullshit friend. It’s been tense.

I love Valentine’s Day. And I don’t care what you think. I love for the holiday it wants to be, and I love it for the holiday it almost is. I love it.

tumblr_inline_njqnvmzrcp1rf6tnv
When I was a kid I used to get up on Valentine’s Day and find a card from my mom. I shared candy and flowers with my friends all day. And when my dad got home from work he brought potted flowers for my mom and me. Valentine’s Day was about showing love for everyone.

Is it a corporate holiday? Sure, probably. I’m not going to yell at you about St. Valentine and the fact that this wasn’t a random greeting card holiday because Hallmark and Cartier makes billions so sure its corporate.

But you know what else has gotten pretty corporate? Everything. Welcome to capitalism. But whether or not there are bobble heads and chocolates* to celebrate a holiday doesn’t determine its significance.

d6d11c89aa6c25f97d5ed08a5b42ee27

No matter what you do today; staying in or going out, single or not single, presents or no presents, just remember all the people you love and all the people who love you. That, my friends, is a long list of peopleย and a lot of non-corporate love to consider.

Also, there’s discount chocolate everywhere.

Best of luck.

tumblr_mgvwgbx95y1s2gj18o1_r2_500

*chocolate bobble heads? Mmmm…

3 thoughts on “In Defense of Valentine’s Day

  1. As someone who is highly anti-Valentine’s day simply because people get on my nerves with their gushiness but this was quite an entertaining read and made me giggle. Thanks for making those of us who hate it feel better! ๐Ÿ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

