Monday Motivation: There’s Nobody Like You

I always say to young women to know their power, whatever is it that you have done, be it at home or at work or in the academic world or wherever it is...understand that it has made you uniquely qualified. There's nobody like you.

Yesterday I watched the PBS special American Masters: The Women’s List.* It was basically just a bunch of strong, successful women telling stories and talking about life. So, fantastic and wonderful.

There were plenty of meaningful quotes, but this one in particular spoke to me. So many times I have walked into an interview, an exam, or even just a room feeling like I’m not qualified. What a funny word,Β qualified. That word feels like a mean middle school girl staring down her nose at me, telling me my voice is too low, my hips are too wide, and nobody even likes me anyway.** That word is the worst, because, does anyone really ever feel qualified? To do anything?

But the thing is, we’re all capable, beautiful, and yeah qualified, people who can do amazing things. We’re all capable and beautiful in different ways. We all have stories and experiences to share that make us qualified.

So go kick ass.

Best of luck.

tumblr_nlat5ccdcs1tq4of6o1_500

*Go watch this, right now. It’s on Netflix.

** COUGHashleyCOUGHCOUGH

6 thoughts on “Monday Motivation: There’s Nobody Like You

  1. Hi, heard of imposter syndrome? I did an article on it on careers24.com some time ago. I just started reading your posts so I’m not sure if you’ve covered/read up on it or not.

    Also: I’m enjoying (read relate a lot too) your posts and this is my attempt at taking part in the conversation.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I have! Impostor syndrome has been the topic of many a’therapy session for me. Haven’t covered it previously but that is a great idea for the future. Thank you for reading and I’m glad your enjoying the blog! (I’m finally getting back to it now). Best of luck!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

