What Happens When Your Soul Sister Visits

This weekend I’m lucky enough to have the love of my life visit me: BFF Jess. Don’t worry Boyfriend knows his place: directly behind my Jess. He’s cool with it.

In honor of this spectacular event, here are the stages of what happens when your soul sister visits.

Stage 1: The Planning

rs-plotting

Everyone tells their friends they should visit, everyone makes superficial plans for a “one day” visit, but the real planning typically starts with a text.

“What does May look like for you?”

This is where the timing and the plane tickets and the time off work come into play. This is real.

Stage 2: The Countdown

snl-so-freakin-excited

Typically starting casually, this stage causes all conversations to end with a mention of the impending excitement.

“You’re going to be here in nine and a half months/two months/one week/TOMORROW”

For BFF Jess and I this usually comes to a peek the week of the visit, when we relentlessly annoy our friend by posting photos of us on Facebook and reminding the world that THIS IS HAPPENING SO SOON.

Stage 3: The Reunion

giphy1

THIS STAGE IS IN ALL CAPS BECAUSE OMG MY BFF IS HERE AND I CAN’T BELIEVE SHE’S HERE AND SHE’S SO PRETTY AND PERFECT AND I LOVE HER AND I NEED TO TELL HER EVERYTHING THAT’S HAPPENED IN THE PAST SIX MONTHS EVEN THOUGH WE TALK EVERYDAY AND SHE ALREADY KNOWS EVERYTHING.

Breathe. Ok. LET’S JUST HUG AND JUMP UP AND DOWN SOME MORE.

—–

I hope you all have a lovely weekend. I’m off to forget I’m a grad student and an adult for a weekend of adventure with the greatest human I know.

Crazy Faces

Best of luck.

What Happens When Your Soul Sister Visits

2 thoughts on “What Happens When Your Soul Sister Visits

Leave a Reply

