Whole30 Confession #2: I have IBS

I believe I’ve talked about this a few times on the blog, but there’s always room for another IBS post. Right? Right.

A little over a year ago I was feeling pretty crummy on the regular; nauseous and constantly battling stomach cramps. Someone once likened this type of stomach pain to feeling barbed wire run through your intestines and I’ve never found a more spot-on comparison.

One Friday evening my symptoms got worse and worse until I was sitting in bed realizingย I could no longer take a full breath because of the pain. By the next day I was really struggling to breathe regularly and couldn’t eat much without increasing pain or nausea. Not eating regularly made my blood sugar crash and I got dizzy and sick. And as often happens when my body is overstressed, my blood pressure crashed to the ground and so did I.

I passed out at least twice, though Boyfriend says three times. I’ll go with his answer because I wasn’t really there. Eventually I went to the clinic* and saw a lovely on-call doctor who poked, prodded, asked questions, ran a few tests and eventually said “I can’t see the cause but you’re obviously in pain.” See wrote me a prescription for Vicodin** and told me to come back and see my doctor.

I went back that Monday and saw my GP who declared that it was Irritable Bowel Syndrome. I praised, I rejoiced, finally a diagnosis!

Then she explained further – IBS has no cure, treatment, or reliable cause. Basically it’s the diagnosis you get when you have chronic stomach issues and every other possible issue has been ruled out. Cool, a diagnosis…

IBS is a b*tch. It’s what I would image having a teenager would be, except that the child is your digestive system. You can’t control it, it argues with you constantly, but you can’t just get rid of it. IBS is enjoying a cupcake but knowing you’ll be sick later. Maybe. IBS is waking up one random morning, after weeks of healthy eating, in horrible pain for no reason. Like I said, IBS is a b*tch.

64491067

Since then I’ve been through many different diet restrictions and natural methods, though the only thing that’s made a real difference is the Whole30 reset. I’ve learned a lot about my body and what it doesn’t like doing multiple Whole30s and I’ve come to look at food differently.

My body is angry much of the time and I’m by no means perfect when it comes to food habits, but I’m taking a step every day toward food freedom.

Best of luck.

whole30confession2

* I waited until Monday and went to a clinic because my health insurance did not cover ER charges. This absolute hell brought to you buy: bullshit rich people in health policy who don’t f***ing get it.

** My crappy state insurance did, however, cover prescription painkillers. So, I guess if you can’t get emergency healthcare, get drugs.

3 thoughts on “Whole30 Confession #2: I have IBS

  1. You poor thing! Wonder if it was triggered during your time in the Peace Corps? If so, terribly bad karma for such a good deed. As I often say, God has a nasty sense of humor. Could also possibly be karma as in overdoing it as a solution for your youthful weight issues. If so, that would also be karma for my mom, the perpetual dieter and hopefully only subconscious shamer of her daughter. Final point here, I think IBS is how doctors, who are after all not God, have identified otherwise unidentifiable, or at least not really treatable with drugs, causes for excruciating human pains throughout the body. Another example is plantar fasciitis. I hope your Whole30 is sustainable, if it helps you successfully avoid the stomach cramps. Mom, who’s in her 80s and has finally stopped dieting she she started hanging with her boyfriend, who even at an older age than she, still embarks on even crazier diets, is telling herself, egged on by me, that the biggest trigger for her IBS symptoms is chocolate!

    Like

  2. Sorry to hear about this. I guess it helps to have a diagnosis. My brother was diagnosed with Chrones some years back, which is a gastrointestinal disease. Coconut water helped immensely. Maybe for IBS too?

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve had students who have struggled with Chrohn’s, that’s a really hard one too. Hmmm, I’ve had coconut water before but never really experimented with the effects. I’ll have to try it out. Thank you for the suggestion and for reading!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

