Success! Finally Being Good at Something

I’ve been decent at a lot of things in my life. I’ve been a decent musician, a decent student, a decent retail worker, a decent volleyball player.

Ok that last one isn’t true, I was pretty awful at volleyball. Your girl does not have hand-eye coordination.

fd6f568ddc72ecacdd1fd813035860fa

My point is, I’ve felt like I’m ok at so many things and truly, comically awful at a few, but I have rarely really felt like I found my jam.

Until now.

Before winter break I had two teaching evaluations. One was in October and came back with pretty typical results for a first year teacher: a mix of developing and effective marks. The second evaluation was in December, right at the end of term one. I got those results recently: all effective and one highly effective mark.

It’s ok. You can say it. I know. Daaammmmnnnnnn.

harry-potter-wow

Now this one evaluation does not mean I’m perfect and I’m also not about to place my worth as a teacher on it. But it made me come back to a thought I’ve had many times in my four months teaching:

I have room to grow and learn and I always will, but damn it if I’m not a really good teacher. I’m good at this. This is my jam. I always thought people who claimed to have found their calling were liars, but then mine came out of nowhere and body checked me.

I only wish I could go back to retail me and paraeducator me and food service me and college me and tell them that they’ll get there. The suffering is real but it will pay off. You will get to your dream one day.

And it will feel so damn good to be great at something.

Best of luck.

success-finally-being-good-at-something

13 thoughts on “Success! Finally Being Good at Something

  1. You and my college roommate, It takes a special kind of person to be a good teacher who loves his/her job. If it makes you feel any better that it took this long to find your calling, remember that your brain wasn’t mature till it and you reached age 25. I’ll bet this very rational career choice solidified in your brain at just about that point.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I think so too. It’s really crazy to ask kids to choose a career since they have no idea who they are yet. I remember feeling so behind at 19 years old because I was totally sure about teaching yet, but really I just needed a space to find me and grow into myself. Thank you for reading and sharing your thoughts!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Aw this is amazing, well done you! I definitely feel your pain with being ‘pretty good’ at a lot of things, I always seem to do pretty well but never amazing and it is so irritating when you are a perfectionist! haha. I am loving your blog too, keep up the hard work, you are doing amazing! x

    adelelydia.blogspot.com

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This makes me a little nostalgic for the earlier years of my teaching career. A less successful lesson would occupy my thoughts for days, but this was more than made up for by the way-up highs I experienced after a good day of teaching. Congrats on your evaluation!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Exactly. The veteran teachers around me have encouraged me to always keep the excitement for every lesson but never expect it will go perfectly (or sometimes even work at all). Keeping that in mind is really helping me to handle the not so great days and celebrate the great ones. Thanks for reading, glad you enjoyed!

      Liked by 2 people

  4. Congrats on your evaluations! It’s awesome to succeed in what you love to do! I was kind of forced to change careers a couple years ago, and it was the best thing ever. I wish I could go back and tell retail me that there is light at the end of the tunnel, and that the path does lead toward a dream job ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Hi How Do I Grown Up,
    Thank you for liking my post about how to get over 13,000 page views in a month.
    In response to what you wrote, we have things in common other than the fact we both blog! I am also a teacher and someone who never felt she was very capable until teaching.
    Thanks for visiting my blog and liking my post.
    Janice

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

