Celebrate Yourself

Last month I took part in Yoga Revolution, 31 days of yoga challenge from Yoga with Adriene. It was less a New Years Resolution and more an opportunity to get back to daily yoga after a few weeks off. Either way though, I really enjoyed the thirty minute daily videos from this hilarious and kind teacher. 

During the third week I was really struggling. I struggled to get to the mat. I struggled to focus. I struggled to breathe. I got mad at Adriene and at yoga and at my body. I cried in cobra and fumed in down dog. But I finished and then I came back the next day and life went on. 

A few days later Adriene hit a lot of the crap that had been holding me down. She talked about a friend of hers who has chronic back pain and wondered, “can you shift the language? Can you let go of this back pain as part of your identity?”

96926-yoga-quote

She went on to explain that being kind to yourself and loving your body even when it doesn’t do what you want is the goal. Yoga isn’t about making shapes it’s about growth and making space. I had heard this, I knew this, I could quote this, but this time I actually heard it. 

Stop being such a d*ck to yourself and celebrate doing your best.  

I’m hard on myself, about everything, I’m never good enough and my body gets the worst of it. Growing up overweight I always felt that if my body wasn’t cooperating with me it was because it was inherently wrong. My fat body was the wrong body so it did things wrong. 

Can’t do that stretch? Wrong body, bad body. Can’t run as fast or long as you want? Bad body. Stomach ache, headache, joint pain? Bad body. It never occurred to me to accept my body and help it, support it to feel better. If my body is a dear friend instead of an enemy, life can be so much less painful. 

Life and yoga are about stretching, learning, growing. Not pain, not hurt, not hate. 

I learn the best life lessons while upside down.

Best of luck

** and check out Yoga with Adriene ***

celebrateyourself

6 thoughts on “Celebrate Yourself

  1. I took a short chair yoga class because getting up off the floor takes too long and is too complicated! The benefit I received was increased flexibility, or at least I convinced myself it was. That possibly imaginary result was enough incentive to finally join my local gym. Took my first “regular” yoga class there this morning and will try again later this week, now that I have downloaded descriptions of some of the poses in the chair.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yoga is great for flexibility and strength and so many other physical things, but I find that I’m just more balanced mentally when I do it. I literally just set a timer for 15 minutes this morning and “played” on the mat, doing poses and flow. It’s a really great way to take time for yourself whether is “regular” or chair or whatever. Best of luck!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi! I have nominated you for the Liebster Award! Check out my latest blog post for the details! I hope you accept and carry this award on! Have a great day!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ah! So many great points here! I’ve always blamed my body for limitations, despite the fact that it’s the wrong bit of my brain that’s telling me not to push that boundary. You’ve definitely given me something to think about 🙂 I’m also a Yoga With Adrienne fan, though I haven’t really done any yoga in too long. I keep telling myself ‘soon’ but it just hasn’t happened. Should probably just do it, haha!

    Erin | Explore, Refresh

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

